Annual change at the Independent Schools Association

At the beginning of September each year, a new Chair takes office at the Independent Schools Association (ISA), an organisation which has grown rapidly in the last few years and now has nearly 530 members, most of them small, community-based schools, very different from the big, expensive institutions that are often in the media spotlight. (The total number of accredited independent schools in Britain is around 1,200.)

Alistair Lexden, President of the ISA, was joined by the incoming and outgoing Chairs, along with the ISA Chief Executive, at the Lords on 6 September for the annual ceremony at which the Chair’s chain of office changes hands.

In the first picture, the President is with the new Chair, Claire Osborn, and Neil Roskilly, Chief Executive; in the second, with Matthew Adshead, Chair in 2018-19, and Claire Osborn. Both are heads of successful member schools.